Meetings Preview 2024

preview your a glimpse to all that is on offer at MeeTiNGS2O24 New Zealand’s premium business eventͣ tradeshow ԏԙʹʔ ڑ՟ڑ ԐԎʹʔ ڑ ĉ΃˷ɤ ڑ ԐԎԐԓ Energy Events Centre ž̇ʹ̇ͅ΃Ǹջ ڑ īɤΨ ڑ ǭɤǸ˓Ǹ˷ɒ Ջģ__ƙÅīƋԐԓ ڑڑڑڑ Ջģ__ƙʧ˷īǭ ڑڑڑڑ #bEia ՋAƥƋÅī_ƋƋ_Dž_īƙƋīǭ

Two Venues One Team A premier setting for corporate events and national conferences, we transform your event vision into reality. Start planning your next event at takina.co.nz

The last time we were here was a testament to our industry’s resilience. It was 2011 and MEETINGS was due to be held in Christchurch. The tragedy which struck in February that year meant an immediate change of location and Rotorua welcomed MEETINGS to their city for the first time, showing our ability to adapt when required. That year will always hold a special place for us all. We call Rotorua the beating heart of our tourism industry, but it is more than that. It is a city that embodies the feeling of manaakitanga or hospitality and care, a feeling you will experience firsthand. With a rich history and a deep sense of pride, Rotorua is a city that is ready to welcome visitors from across New Zealand and the world, eager to share its unique charm and culture. As is always the case, each year we take a look at MEETINGS to see howwe can keep it fresh and relevant. This year, Buyers will have an opportunity to experience educational sessions which are rich and relevant. We have a line up of incredible speakers including David Downs, CEO of The New Zealand Story, award winner Nadine Toe Toe, Director of Kohutapu Lodge & Tribal Tours and Whirinaki Forest Footsteps, and Kingi Biddle, Pūkenga Mātauranga Māori – Mātauranga Māori Specialist, who will talk about Korero or talking with authenticity. In addition, try not tomiss AdamLynch and Stu Hartley’s knowledge on risk, the team from Team up will share their experience on CSR in Action and including this within teamwork. Finally, Loren Aberhart, General Manager of Destination and Attraction, ChristchurchNZ, will share her deep knowledge on securing commercial and third-party funding for events, in a session aptly titled “Show me the Money”! I don’t envy you making a decision on which session to see. Finally, I have to thank the village which makes MEETINGS the incredible event it is. Firstly toourwonderful partners at Rotorua NZ, CEO Andrew Wilson, Jesse Tamm, Leah Morrison and the incomparable vanessa Wallace, who has put her heart and soul into ensuring that everyone at MEETINGS, Buyer, Media, Exhibitor and guest has the most wonderful time in her city. We are equally thankful to Mayor Tania Tapsell and the team at Rotorua City Council for their support. Tourism New Zealand and Air New Zealand continue to stand arm in arm with BEIA and the belief in this sector. Their support is unwavering. Thank you to you both for ensuring our international visitors enjoy their time with us and enabling them to experience MEETINGS. Peek Exhibition and Exhibition Hire Services (EHS) continue to raise the bar on collaboration in a competitive world. We always receive comments on the look and feel of MEETINGS and we thank them for yet again working tirelessly with us, to ensure an exceptional outcome. To Russell, Shayne and the team at Hobbiton for providing our special guests with an experience unlike any other, taking them to the home of the Hobbitses in the rolling hills of the Shire before delivering them to Rotorua, just down the road. We continue to be in awe of our MEETINGS partners who readily put their hand up to play a role in this event. This includes EventsAir, Johnston’s Coachlines and our supporting partners who continue to value this sector. Our thanks also extend to the hotel partners in Rotorua and Auckland for taking special care of our Buyers. We are so grateful for your flexibility and willingness to ensure every visitor leaves with their hearts full of your hospitality. This year is the first MEETINGS for our new Chair, Martin Snedden, and I know he will be thrilled with what he will see and experience. As will the rest of the BEIA Board who join me and the BEIA team as custodians of this event. This is a special time for us all, bringing together the industry we care so deeply about. Finally, to the brilliant BEIA team, who once again have delivered an exceptional event. Head of Event Delivery, Chris Peak leads the small yet mighty events team of Michelle Bird, Loric Wang and Catherine Hayes, and is beautifully supported by Sharon Auld, Nicky Tilsley, Anabel Darby, Maria Teape and Trish Kennedy, our brilliant Registration lead. Your dedication to ensuring the success of this event is breathtaking, and I am so grateful I get to work with you all every day. We are counting the days until we see you all in this special part of the world and wish you all the best for a successful MEETINGS 2024. Ngā mihi nui, Lisa Hopkins Chief Executive Business Events Industry Aotearoa Our industry is constantly evolving and this is particularly evident at MEETINGS 2024. Over the past two years, we introduced the industry to impressive new infrastructure, Te Pae Christchurch Convention Centre and Tākina Wellington Convention Centre. In 2024, we are taking a fresh approach, bringing MEETINGS back to the city where taking care of visitors was where it all began. We welcome you, most warmly, to Rotorua and the Energy Events Centre. Lisa Hopkins - Chief Executive Business Events Industry Aotearoa (BEIA) Kia ora and welcome to our special MeeTiNGS 2024 Preview Magazine, with thanks to our partners at Meeting Newz. l i i ’s ili . I I l i i . i i i i l i l I i i i i , i ili i . i l l l i l l l. l i i i , i i . I i i i li i i li , li i l i i . i i i i , i i i l i i l l , i i l . i l , l I i l . i , i l i i i l i i i l . li i i l i l i i , l , i i , i i l i i i , i i i l , i i i li , i l l l i i i i . I a i i , t n t mi A L a l ’s l i , i l i i i i i l i i i i . i l , , l i i i , i , i l l i i l i i , i i l i l ! I ’ i i i i i . i l , I i l i I i i l i i . i l t o w l p a R , il , , i i l l , l i i I , , i , i i l i i i . l l i l i il i . Tourism New Zealand and Air New l i i i I li i i . i i i . i i i l i i j i i i li i I . i i i i i i i i i i l i i i i l . l i l l I i i i l l i , i l . l, i i i i l i i li , i i i li i l i li i , j . i i I il i l l i i . i i l i , ’s li i i l i . l l i l i i l . l l i ili i li i i l i i l i li . i i i I i , i , I i l i l i i l i . i l I j i I i i . i i i l i l, i i i l . i l , i li I , again have deli i l . li , i l l i i l i , i i , i i l l , i il l , l , i i , i li i i l . i i i i i i , I l I i l . i il l i i i l l i l l I . i i i, i i i i i I i i l l i i i i l l i I . , i i i i i , i i i li i . I , i , i i I i i i i i l . l , l , . i i i i i I I 3 MEETINGS 2024 YOUR PREVIEW

Please note this programme is subject to change MeeTiNGS2024 proGrAMMe Tuesday 18 June 9.00am - 3.00pm Rotorua Host City Famil for Hosted Buyers 1.00pm - 3.30pm Exhibitor Pack-in and Registration 4.00pm - 7.00pm MEETINGS Welcome Function (ticketed event) Sir Howard Morrison Centre wednesday 19 June 8.45am Exhibition opens 8.45am - 9.15am Buyer Orientations (optional) 9.15am Opening Karakia Tourism New Zealand Stand 9.30am - 10.45am MEETINGS Appointment Programme (4 meetings of 15 mins) 10.45am - 11.30am Free-flow Period I Morning Tea Available 11.35am - 12.50pm MEETINGS Appointment Programme (4 meetings of 15 mins) 12.50pm - 2.15pm Free-flow Period I Lunch available 1.00pm - 2.00pm Media Walkthrough MeeTiNGS Lunchtime education Sessions and Activity Sessions: 1.10pm - 2.10pm CSR in Action - Putting Teamwork to the Test Team Up Events interactive team building session 1.20pm - 2.10pm Managing the Unexpected... Adam Lynch, Reliance Risk & Stu Hartley, Event Cover 1.20pm - 2.10pm Change the World Through Tourism Nadine Toe Toe, Kohutapu Lodge & Tribal Tours and Whirinaki Forest Footsteps 2.20pm - 3.35pm MEETINGS Appointment Programme (4 meetings of 15 mins) 3.35pm - 3.55pm Afternoon Tea 4.00pm - 4.15pm MEETINGS Appointment Programme (1 meeting of 15 mins) 4.15pm - 5.00pm Networking on the Show Floor 7.00pm - 10.00pm RotoruaNZ Matariki Dinner (Invitation only) Thursday 20 June 8.45am Exhibition opens 8.45am - 9.15am Buyer Orientations (optional) 9.30am - 10.45am MEETINGS Appointment Programme (4 meetings of 15 mins) 10.45am - 11.30am Free-flow Period I Morning Tea Available 11.35am - 12.50pm MEETINGS Appointment Programme (4 meetings of 15 mins) 12.50pm - 2.15pm Free-flow Period I Lunch available MeeTiNGS Lunchtime education Sessions: 1.20pm - 2.10pm New Zealand is a global superpower David Downs, New Zealand Story 1.20pm - 2.10pm ‘Show me the money!’ Securing commercial and third-party funding for events Loren Aberhart, ChristchurchNZ 1.20pm - 2.10pm Pono - A kōrero on Authenticity Kingi Biddle, Rotorua Lakes Council 2.20pm - 3.35pm MEETINGS Appointment Programme (3 meetings of 15 mins) 3.20pm - 3.40pm Meeting Newz Best Stand Award Announcements Tourism New Zealand Stand 3.40pm - 4.15pm MEETINGS Appointment Programme (2 meetings of 15 mins) 4.15pm Closing Karakia Tourism New Zealand Stand 7.00pm - 11.30pm MEETINGS Celebration (ticketed event) Skyline Rotorua 2024 MEETINGS PREVIEW

Corporate Hire Where Business Blends with Leisure Stretching across the Canterbury Plains, braided rivers and Southern Alps, Selwyn is home to a mix of venues plus an exciting range of experiences. We have modern purpose-built facilities, or smaller boutique venues that showcase the agricultural heart of Selwyn within wineries, woolsheds and other themed environments. Play on the golf courses, ski the slopes, or ride on jet boats. From sunrises in a hot air balloon, to sunsets on horseback, Selwyn has it all. Just 20 minutes from Christchurch, our venues are away from the city’s distractions, but close enough to everything on your itinerary. Your attendees will feel recharged and can extend their stay in accommodation close to nature. Let’s plan your next event in Selwyn. Contact: 0800 BOOK IN or bookings@selwyn.govt.nz Visit: selwyn.nz/corporate PŌHIRI – A FORMAL CEREMONYOF WELCOME Local experts, Kingi Biddle and VanessaWallace fromRotoruaNZ tell us what to expect on 18 June, at our formal welcome to Rotorua. A pōhiri is deeply rooted in Māori culture and is commonly performed at the beginning of gatherings, meetings, or events. The purpose is to acknowledge the presence of guests and establish connections while showing respect for the land, ancestors, and cultural protocols. The ceremonial welcome - pōhiri - is significant for several reasons. It creates a respectful and inclusive atmosphere, recognising the diversity of individuals and their backgrounds. It Accepting offering during Te Puia powhiri (Photo by Cameron Mackenzie) also establishes a sense of belonging and equality among participants. The ceremony fosters relationships, cultural understanding, and collaboration by honouring Māori customs and values. A pōhiri involves three parts: whaikōrero (formal speech), waiata (singing) and kai (food). On June 18, MEETINGS manuhiri – visitors – will gather opposite the venue before a call of welcome beckons them into the Sir Howard Morrison Centre. This will mark the beginning of the pōhiri process, and visitors will transition to the venue with women leading the way followed by the men. During the pōhiri, Pae Ārahi or a designated representative will guide guests through the process. Their major purpose is to help manuhiri feel settled. A Haka Pōhiri or a stirring dance of welcome is a mark of respect to the dignity and prestige of the visitors, it also reflects the sanctity of the connection Māori have with the land. The host will then welcome the guests, acknowledging ancestors who have come before. They will introduce themselves, sharing their lineage, affiliations, and spiritual guardianship of the land. This highlights the importance of relationships and kinship ties within Māori society. The exchange of speeches, songs, or chants, further symbolises unity and connection. The consumption of food at the end of the ceremony lifts the tapu (spiritual restriction) making everyone noa (equal). The sharing of food is the final act of this process and the pōhiri is concluded with refreshments. 2024 MEETINGS PREVIEW 5 MEETINGS 2024 YOUR PREVIEW

Our Partners Airline Partner Host City Partner Major Partners Hotel Partners Industry Partner Host Venue Media Partners

Supporting Partners Lounge Sponsor Lanyard Sponsor DayBuyer Registration FormSponsor Wi-Fi Sponsor Catering Area Sponsor Water Station Sponsor Hosted Buyer Application FormSponsor 2024 MEETINGS PREVIEW

ROTORUARETURNSAS HOST CITY FORMEETINGS,WELCOMING LARGEST DELEGATIONYET Thirteen years after it first hosted MEETINGS in 2011, Rotorua is back as host city welcoming the largest delegation ever in MEETINGS’ 28-year history. successful business events. Rotorua is connected by air to all major cities and is no more than three hours’ drive to more than half of New Zealand’s population, including Auckland. RotoruaNZ will be hosting a very special dinner for hosted buyers on Wednesday 19 June to usher in Matariki – the Māori New Year. Signified by the Matariki cluster of stars reappearing in the night sky, MEETINGS takes place at this time to reflect on the past year, celebrate the present, and plan for the year ahead. www.rotoruanz.com/meetings-andconferences This regional city in the central North Island is an aspirational destination for conferences and meetings. The region’s geothermal gems, natural beauty, authentic expression and celebration of Māori culture, and an array of outdoor experiences - from world-first adventure activities to relaxing spa and wellness therapies - attracts visitors from all over the world. Rotorua’s has world-class activities and attractions, famous manaakitanga (hospitality), multiple conference venues and meeting spaces – including the Energy Events Centre, one of New Zealand’s largest – and more than 13,000 beds, plus facilities and capabilities for MEETINGS is continuing its journey as a certified net carbon zero event, having received Toitū net carbonzero certification as a Certified Event Operation for the first time last year. This year, MEETINGS is working with Toitū to provide exhibitors with prerecorded resources on how to measure and reduce their carbon footprint and exhibit more sustainability. MEETINGS’ caterers at the Energy Event Centre, KAK Hospitality, are NEW INITIATIVES UPMEETINGS’ CARBON-ZEROSTATUS helping to reduce food waste by working closely with Feeding Rotorua to donate suitable leftover food to assist with meals for 300 to 500 people each day. All other food waste is collected by Ecostock who use it to create bio-gas, stock feed and fertiliser. Hosted buyer flights and travel will be offset through MEETINGS’ airline partner, Air New Zealand’s FlyNeutral programme. Once again this year, buyers and WHAT IS MATARIKI? Matariki is a group of stars that appears in the night sky in midwinter, and shares its name with the celebrations that take place around this time. In the traditional Māori lunar calendar, called the Maramataka, the new year begins with the first new moon after Matariki appears in the sky. The brightest star in the cluster is also called Matariki – it is said to be the mother of the other stars that surround it. Matariki is also called the Pleiades or the Seven Sisters in English. The rising of Matariki is traditionally a time of transition and reflection, when people gather to remember the past and prepare for the future. exhibitors are being asked to do their bit by bringing reusable bags, coffee cups and water bottles, using the MEETINGS APP, and walking to the venue if staying locally. Name badge pouches will be made optional for all exhibitors, day buyers and guests to the event. This year, hosted buyers will be gifted a donation to one of the three local charities: Waiariki Women’s Refuge, Ka Pai Kai Rotorua school lunches, or the National Kiwi Hatchery. 2024 MEETINGS PREVIEW 8 MEETINGS 2024 YOUR PREVIEW

Enquire today BOOK A CONFERENCE, STAY FOR FREE! Reserve your conference room with us between May and October 2024 and enjoy a complimentary one-night stay and breakfast for two. Terms & Conditions apply. | Contact: 0800 538 466 www.jetpark.co.nz |

EDUCATIONHIGHON MEETINGS 2024AGENDA New this year, education sessions for buyers will be held during lunchbreaks and cover a wide range of relevant and trending topics. MEETINGS event manager, Chris Peak says buyers can maximise their time on the show floor with opportunities to do business and learn, gaining new ideas, inspiration and new connections. “We are packing in the benefits for hosted buyers and day buyers to ensure they take as much away from this experience as possible. Anyone who organises, researches, or makes decisions on any type of business event in New Zealand – conferences, meetings, product launches, incentives, roadshows – can’t afford to miss MEETINGS,” he says. Two-day education programme The 50-minute education sessions will include: identifying and managing unexpected risks; corporate social responsibility through an indigenous lens; Aotearoa New Zealand’s special status globally - and how to tell its story; securing commercial and third-party funding for events; and how tikanga Māori – customs, protocol, and values can enhance events. These education sessions will also be recorded and made available to all attendees. The Team Up Events’ lunchtime CELEBRATION OF COLOUR - RIOCOMES TO ROTORUA MEETINGS’ celebration nights are legendary and 2024 is set to be no different with the ultimate party at Skyline Rotorua. Guests are being asked to bring their energy, and wear their most colourful attire when they gather to celebrate the biggest week in the business events calendar. For one night only, Rio comes to Rotorua for the MEETINGS 2024 finale. Guests will ride to the top of Mt Ngongotahā where a night of colour, culinary delights and captivating entertainment is planned. A bespoke Brazilian-inspired menu will be served across seven different food stations, created by Skyline’s award winning Stratosfare restaurant. Guests have the chance to experience the longest luge tracks in the world, under floodlights high above MEETINGS’ host city, and to indulge in a first-class line up of entertainment. Partners for this night of nights for the business events industry are Skyline Rotorua, RotoruaNZ, Activities and Events Unlimited, The Production Agency and Johnston’s Coachlines. workshop on Wednesday 19 June is an interactive Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) team-building session set to make a positive impact for the local Rotorua community. Attendees will experience first-hand how the power of events can create meaningful benefits for local communities. TNZ Knowledge and Destination Hub The Tourism New Zealand Knowledge and Destination Hub will host 23 different 15-minute targeted presentations throughout the two days of MEETINGS. Attendees can find out what’s new in New Zealand events with regional showcase updates from across the country, gather insights into the Asian and North American events markets, and learn more about Toitū and Qualmark and what these certifications mean for assessing the sustainability of an event. Other topics will include everything from the application of GST in Australasian events, to the role and value of a professional conference organiser (PCO), and the significance of Māori cultural protocols for events. Tourism New Zealand’s Business Events team will also be on the stand to discuss the support, bid assistance and resources available to help attract and host successful international conferences. Ten key regions will present regional updates: Bay of Plenty, Christchurch, Lake Taupō, West Coast, Southland and Fiordland, Dunedin, Queenstown, Auckland, Marlborough, and Waikato. First-hand experience for students The next generation of event management and hospitality professionals will be given hands-on insights into the burgeoning business events industry. This year MEETINGS will be supporting over 100 Level 5 and 6 students studying hospitality, event management and tourism at the local Toi Ohomai Institute of Technology in Rotorua. They will have the opportunity to explore the MEETINGS tradeshow before an afternoon of sessions designed to develop their knowledge and understanding of the business events industry, how their specific areas of study play a part in the overall business events ecosystem as well as their career pathways. Students will also have a chance to gain practical experience by working with the organising team at MEETINGS 2024. Education for hosted buyers, day buyers, and the next generation of event managers will be a strong focus for MEETINGS 2024. 2024 MEETINGS PREVIEW 10 MEETINGS 2024 YOUR PREVIEW

Where Passion Meets Purpose. FABLEHOTELSANDRESORTS.COM LUXURY BOUTIQUE CONFERENCE & EVENT SPACE ACROSS NEW ZEALAND. Fable leads luxury accommodations in New Zealand with prime locations in Auckland, Canterbury, and Dunedin. Our event venues combine practicality with luxury, catering to intimate gatherings or conferences for up to 200 guests with expertise, whether for a multi-day event or a memorable few hours.

Nestled in the heart of the Waikato region, the enchanting village of Hobbiton Movie Set™ has been a place of pilgrimage for fans of The Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit Trilogies for 20 years. Now visitors can venture beyond the iconic doors of Bag End and immerse themselves in the cosy interiors of a Hobbit Hole. Situated as the perfect gateway to New Zealand, conveniently away from the city’s hustle and bustle, and just a short 20 minute drive fromAuckland International Airport, DoubleTree by Hilton Karaka is the ideal starting point for any New Zealand adventure. Offering modern comfort, enjoy a warmwelcome with a signature chocolate chip cookie before relaxing in stylish guest rooms and suites. HOSTED BUYERS FIRST TO EXPERIENCE NEWADVENTURE AT HOBBITON™MOVIE SET DOUBLETREE BY HILTON KARAKA DoubleTree by Hilton Karaka hotel manager, Gert Venter says they are is delighted to be welcoming 33 buyers from Australia to experience Karaka’s lush countryside. “DoubleTree by Hilton is thrilled to be hosting the BEIA Meetings 2024 Hosted Buyers. Business events are a vital part of our business and we are delighted to support the BEIA team as part of the itinerary. We are exhibiting at MEETINGS 2024 where attendees can engage with Mudra Joshi and Brooke Morpeth, Hilton’s North Island Cluster Commercial representatives to explore new business opportunities and have our hotels’ unique offerings revealed to them,” he says. Shayne Forrest, general manager Tourism at Hobbiton™ Movie Set says the team is very much looking forward to hosting MEETINGS pre and post famils to reveal the new set first hand to a large number of Australian and New Zealand hosted buyers. “We really appreciate the opportunity to showcase our piece of Middle-earth and to host buyers in our brand new On Sunday 16 June, Australian buyers will be collected in Hobbiton coaches and transported south of Auckland for a special night’s stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Karaka. Here they will enjoy exceptional hospitality in a beautiful rural location, before a short drive to Hobbiton the following day, then head to Rotorua for their welcome to MEETINGS 2024. Bagshot Row™ interior Hobbit Holes. These only opened to the public six months ago and the feedback has been incredible, with people blown away with the attention to detail that has brought these spaces to life. We think it’s going to be very popular in the business events and incentive space.” Designed by acclaimed illustrators and artisans behind Sir Peter Jackson’s cinematic adaptations, the Hobbit Holes feature a labyrinth of fully themed rooms, including bedrooms, a kitchen, dining area, pantry, bathroom, and even a parlour with a crackling fireplace. “As MEETINGS attendees prepare to embark on their journey, they will be transported in true Hobbiton style, arriving via Hobbiton coaches. Following their exploration of Bagshot Row, guests will be treated to Hobbit hospitality at The Green Dragon Inn, setting the stage for an unforgettable week of discovery at MEETINGS.” During their stay, they will enjoy one night’s accommodation, be treated to an evening of cocktails and canapés, and experience warm hospitality and the stunning surroundings of DoubleTree by Hilton Karaka first hand. 2024 MEETINGS PREVIEW 12 MEETINGS 2024 YOUR PREVIEW

CHRISTCHURCHNZ CELEBRATES MILESTONES ATMEETINGS 2024 Artistsimpression–TeKaha TePae in May 2024. The convention centre has just hosted back-to-back conferences, including the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons Annual Scientific Congress 2024, Institute of Directors 2024 NZ Conference and MotorSport NZ Conference 2024. The latest of Venues Ōtautahi’s landmark venues, Te Kaha – Christchurch’s new 30,000-seat covered stadium - is on schedule to open in April 2026. Te Kaha will be an outstanding addition to the business events scene in Christchurch and New Zealand – a versatile state-of-the-art space in the heart of the city within easy walking distance of accommodation and hospitality. The stadium will be home to a range of flexible event spaces, including a function lounge with capacity for up to 800 people with an operable wall to divide the room in two, 23 small meeting rooms with capacity for 15 to 60 people, a northern pad with space for up to 2,000 people, plus the level one concourse, and the field of play. Venues Ōtautahi welcomed 29,000 people to Christchurch Town Hall and Wolfbrook Arena for 22 business-related events in May this year. These range from large public exhibitions like the Careers Expo and the New Zealand Motorhome, Caravan and Leisure Show, to conferences and meetings including the Tactical Medicine New Zealand conference, and the Carbon and Energy Professionals conference. “We can’t wait for MEETINGS and the chance to enjoy a relaxed conversation about how, collectively, we can help take your delegate experience to the next level,” Megan Crum says. Christchurch’s success is reflected in a strong contingent of exhibitors on the show floor at MEETINGS 2024, with 18 partners including a curated group of five new exhibitors. Megan Crum, ChristchurchNZ Head of Business Events says the city is home to a wide pool of talented service providers ready to collaborate and deliver world class business events. “Exhibitors at the Christchurch stand will be sharing the full breadth of solutions for event planners, Ōtautahi Christchurch is thriving as a business events destination, celebrating two years since the opening of Te Pae Christchurch Convention Centre, with a new stadium on target for 2026, and a busy calendar of events this year and beyond. including experiences guaranteed to boost delegate participation and create unforgettable moments and lasting memories. “Our partners are excited to chat and we’re inviting everyone at MEETINGS to visit the ChristchurchNZ hub, to enjoy some warm Canterbury hospitality, and to gain inspirational new ideas for their next South Island event,” she says. World-class venues and expertise Christchurch is proving to be a living classroom for delegates, with a wealth of expertise and experience to share in sectors like agri-tech, healthtech, aerospace and geotechnical with international researchers and practitioners in these fields. Since Te Pae Christchurch hosted its first conference in May 2022, more than 200,000 attendees have taken part in 458 events there – far exceeding expectations for its initial operating period. Te Pae Christchurch has kicked off its third year with a packed events calendar 2024 MEETINGS PREVIEW 14 MEETINGS 2024 YOUR PREVIEW

MEETINGS aucklandnz.com/meet MEET AUCKLAND AT STAND 47–48 LET’S PLAN YOUR AUCKLAND BUSINESS EVENT TOGETHER. Embrace the future with innovative ideas.

Millennium Hotel Rotorua’s multimillion-dollar roommakeover will be on show at MEETINGS 2024. Millennium Hotel Rotorua will be the epitome of manaakitanga as MEETINGS buyers get to be among the first to experience stage one of its multimilliondollar guest room refurbishment. It is the largest refurbishment project at the hotel in nearly 20 years, blending modern luxury and cultural richness to embody the essence of Rotorua hospitality. Millennium Hotel Rotorua general manager, Pipiana Whiston, says the rooms have been designed purposefully to reflect local people, places, and stories. “Each room has accent colours of burnt orange and azure blue, symbolising the geothermal environment our city is known for, and the 18 taonga (treasured) lakes that surround us. “We have also introduced a floorto-ceiling photo panel in every room, displaying one of a series of carefully curated images capturing the events, attractions, and landscapes unique to our rohe (region). “As one of the largest hotels in Rotorua, we wanted to make sure our new look celebrated the past, while looking to the future,” Whiston says. Stage one of the project involves 99 rooms, with the remaining 129 to be refurbished in stage two. “We look forward to showcasing our new look as we host our esteemed MEETINGS guests for 2024.” With MEETINGS returning to the city for the first time in 13 years, Millennium Hotel Rotorua is making the most of the opportunity to highlight why it has been a steadfast favourite for the past 40 years. “Rotorua boasts a long history of welcoming and hosting manuhiri (visitors), and MEETINGS will be no different,” Sam Horsnell, director of sales, conference and incentives, says. “Millennium Hotel Rotorua’s Bar Zazu is set to be the unofficial home of networking during the week, offering a cosy place for buyers to come together for pre/post-show socialising. “With live music, drinks and local kai each night, Bar Zazu will be the place to connect and unwind,” Horsnell says. “We’re also encouraging buyers to make the most of their downtime by treating themselves to a soak and luxury treatment at our in-house spa.” Millennium Hotels and Resorts will be well represented during MEETINGS 2024. Key conference hotels will be joining their destinations; Auckland, Queenstown, Wellington, and host city Rotorua, and the National Stand, pulling from Matariki themes, will offer two appointment streams for both New Zealand and Australian buyers. “Matariki is a time of renewal, reflection, and connection with communities and nature, which is why we are gifting New Zealand buyers with native seedlings and Australian buyers with gardening gear. “We also have kiwi plushies to give away, acknowledging our ongoing partnership with Save the Kiwi,” Horsnell says. Millennium’s popular Club Lounge will also return for a second year at the show, offering a place to relax and recharge throughout the event. “We’re taking our Club Lounge to the next level this year with a sample of our spa offering - a free hand, neck, or head massage. “Millennium is so much more than a place to lay your head and we can’t wait for manuhiri to experience it.” MILLENNIUMHOTEL ROTORUAMAKEOVER Christchurch & Hammer Attractions offer three core products that are ideal for business event delegates, pre or post event travel or for partner programmes. The centrally located Christchurch Tram is the perfect inclusion for corporate functions and business events of all sizes. The fleet of seven immaculately restored heritage tramcars each accommodate from 22 to 48 guests. Private hire of one or more trams is available to take guests on a private tour of the central city with opportunities to add a food and beverage service, commentary, or guest speaker. The Christchurch Gondola is 15 minutes from the city and has a private venue with panoramic views of Christchurch, Lyttleton Harbour and beyond. The venue can cater for up to 100 people with on-site or out-sourced catering options. CHRISTCHURCH & HANMER ATTRACTIONS Hanmer Springs Attractions is North Canterbury’s foremost adventure activity base only 90 minutes from Christchurch. There are a variety of activities to suit business groups with pre and post itineraries including jet boating, quad biking, off-road buggy tours, paintball, and the newest activity laser clay shooting. Barbecue or picnic lunches can be arranged, and complimentary transfers are available between the riverside base and Hanmer Springs village. 2024 MEETINGS PREVIEW 16 MEETINGS 2024 YOUR PREVIEW

It’s time to experience a different destination. Karen Witham • Conference & Events Manager Phone 027 777 8997  karen@greatsouth.nz Janine Daniel • Business Development Executive Phone 027 770 7775  janine.daniel@greatsouth.nz AUCKLAND WELLINGTON CHRISTCHURCH QUEENSTOWN DUNEDIN INVERCARGILL STEWART ISLAND TE ANAU The Langlands Bill Richardson Transport World ILT Stadium Southland Ascot Park Hotel Discover our array of conference and meeting venues, accommodation and dining spaces at southlandnz.com/business-events

Auckland Convention Bureau is highlighting Tāmaki Makaurau Auckland’s innovation, connectivity and transformation at MEETINGS 2024 with exciting activations set to create intrigue amongst business guests. AUCKLAND INNOVATION AND CONNECTIVITY ON SHOW Major infrastructure projects in the city include the New Zealand International Convention Centre (NZICC) which will be the biggest new purpose-built convention centre in the country. This is supported by other exciting additions to the region such as InterContinental and Pullman Airport hotels. In 2024 Tāmaki Makaurau Auckland continues to expand its world-wide connectivity with a new partnership with Auckland Airport and China Southern Airlines linking Auckland with high value Chinese business travellers. Delegates interested in finding out more can come and meet the Auckland Convention Bureau team at MEETINGS 2024 on stands 47 and 48. Delegates will be able to check out the activations including: • Wētā Workshop Unleashed animatronics robot Jeff, who will be greeting MEETINGS attendees. He’s currently learning Mandarin and Hindi to give bespoke welcomes to international business events guests. • Auckland’s iconic skyline will be showcased through a striking chocolate display developed by SkyCity. Through MEETINGS 2024, ACB is supporting Kelmarna Community Farm, which helps members of the community with mental health needs or intellectual disabilities to garden for therapeutic purposes. Each buyer will be given a packet of seeds as a token to contribute to the cause. MEETINGS 2024 comes as Auckland is growing in recognition on the world stage for business events, with new International Congress and Convention Association (ICCA) statistics putting the city back in the top 100 worldwide for hosting international conferences. Visit the Auckland Convention Bureau team at stands 47 and 48. InterContinental Auckland PUTTING SOME G FORCE INTO BUSINESS EVENTS The venue offers on-site conference and event facilities for up to 300 guests and apartment style accommodation, located close to the pit lane budling, ideal for residential events. For incentives and team building programmes options include Supercars, U-Drive Race Cars, the WRX team Highlands Motorsport Park and Motorsport Museum in Cromwell is a world-class facility with experiences to match, located 45 minutes away from Queenstown. experience, a 650m Go Kart circuit with single and tandem karts, a flying fox, sculpture park, museum, virtual reality room, café and the famous ‘loo with a view.’ The Highlands team manages more than 600 group events a year, ranging from 10 to 200 guests – so delegates are in good hands. Darren Kelly and Holly Parks from Highlands will be on stand 44 at MEETINGS. 2024 MEETINGS PREVIEW 18 MEETINGS 2024 YOUR PREVIEW

At Brook Serene, we are pleased to bring you a carefully curated selection of hotels. Set in some of New Zealand’s most beautiful locations, each hotel is absolutely one-of-a-kind. Highly personalised service, tranquil ambience and rich local flavour are hallmarks of each property. Much more than just a ‘stay’, at Brook Serene we invite you to escape the everyday. The George Located just minutes from the heart of the Garden City, opposite Hagley Park and the Avon River, The George seamlessly blends luxury with warm and attentive service. The George is the perfect venue for your business gatherings, be it a board meeting, leadership retreat, strategy session, client showcase, or special event. Our dedicated team takes care of every detail, allowing you to concentrate on the content and outcomes of your event. Six distinctive function rooms suitable for various occasions, for 8 to 150 people, from cocktail parties and meetings to private dinners, presentations, seminars, conferences and product launches. Additionally, our expansive grounds offer opportunities for team-building and outdoor activities. www.thegeorge.com Regent of Rotorua Providing an ideal space for business events and special occasions with personalised and professional service. With an array of event venues for hire, we can accommodate groups ranging from 8 to 80, ensuring flexibility for various gatherings. Our dedicated team manages individual meal service requirements, allowing you to focus on the success of your event. Select the Regent of Rotorua as your next event venue and relish the AWARDWINNING LUXURY IN CHRISTCHURCH, ROTORUA AND QUEENSTOWN convenience of having Eat Street at your doorstep for post event entertainment, limited complimentary on-site car parking, complimentary Wi-Fi for hotel and event guests. Make sure to pack your swimsuit to relax in our private mineral pool, heated outdoor pool, and courtyard area. regentrotorua.co.nz Hulbert House, Queenstown Hulbert House holds a distinguished reputation as one of New Zealand’s most elegant boutique lodges. Situated in a tranquil setting, distanced from the hustle and bustle of Queenstown, yet conveniently only a 5-minute walk away, our beautifully restored lodge presents opulent suites draped in Victorian elegance. Immerse yourself in panoramic vistas that unfurl from the mountains to the lake while our award-winning team support you to explore the captivating Queenstown region. Secure Hulbert House exclusively for your next leadership retreat or take over the hotel for your next incentive programme. www.hulberthouse.co.nz 2023 WORLD TRAVEL AWARD WINNERS Oceania’s leading luxury hotel villa 2023, New Zealand’s leading boutique hotel. New Zealand’s leading lodge. Contact For further information for accommodation, events, exclusive use/buy outs and all other ideas. Georgina Torrington Director of Sales and Marketing 021 270 7708 email: georgina@brookserene.com www.brookserene.com TheGeorgeChrischurch Hulbert HouseQueenstown Regent of Rotorua 2024 MEETINGS PREVIEW 20 MEETINGS 2024 YOUR PREVIEW

You would inWellington. TeWhanganui a TaraWellington’s compact citymakes it easy to get around town, rub shoulders with the right people, and soak up inspiration at every turn. Reimagine your next business event. WellingtonNZ.com/meet Connect with the right people

2024 MEETINGS PREVIEW New Zealand’s compact, connected and creative capital is in demand as a destination for business events. While Wellington boasts a range of spectacular venues for events of all sizes, the newest addition Tākina is a drawcard. LEVEL UP YOUR NEXT EVENT INWELLINGTON In the year since the new convention and exhibition centre opened in the heart of the walkable capital, 142 events have been held there. To date, delegate numbers total more than 44,700. With 10,000sqm of flexible meeting space over two floors and catering for up to 1,600 delegates in the main plenary, Tākina’s schedule going forward remains busy. The addition of Tākina has levelled up Wellington’s already prime business event offering. In a city where industry and culture collide, the capital is an event organiser’s dream. It’s where the city is the venue. Set on a stunning harbour and surrounded by nature, there’s a range of incredible conference and events venues that can host everything from international conferences to unique incentive experiences. Being home to the New Zealand Government and headquarters for many central government agencies and industry associations means it’s a collaborative and connected city with strong advocacy for progress, change, improvement and reform. The capital also boasts a sophisticated mix of leading research institutes, industries and talent solving global challenges. Wellington has it all Known for its vibrant, energetic personality, the capital has a range of exciting venues, new restaurants and a jam-packed events calendar that conference organisers can tap into. The 77-room TRYP by Wyndham hotel is a fully renovated heritage building with a dash of Chicago style. Located one block from Tākina, it hosts the largest luxury penthouse apartment in central Wellington that can also be booked for events of up to 80 people. Naumi Hotel is a 62-room property that has been extensively renovated as a visual feast for the senses. Its six event spaces are complemented by cocktail bar and restaurant Lola Rouge. Also in town is The Atrium at The Exchange, a recently opened venue full of industrial and urban character ideal for social functions for up to 250 delegates. Just 30 minutes from the city, the ultimate incentive venue, Boomrock Lodge is perched on 250m cliffs along eight kilometres of stunning untouched coastline. Boomrock’s three venues can offer an action-packed day for up to 200 guests – from adrenaline-filled time trials in a Mercedes A45-S to long lunches and corporate celebrations. Meeting planners can also consider adding more to their social functions or group experiences at some of the Wellington region’s new and notable eateries. Wairarapa’s country charm and worldclass food and wine – just a short drive from Wellington – makes it a prime destination for incentive groups. The Runholder is a recent addition to the Wairarapa appeal. Located in Martinborough, it is home to Te Kairanga, Martinborough Vineyard and Lighthouse Gin all in one venue, offering a quality hospitality experience with three unique dining areas. In Wellington itself there’s Dee’s Place, a cosy neighbourhood whiskey bar hidden underground on Cuba Street. The Ram, also on Cuba Street, is an equally good spot for an evening drink as it is for a casual meal. Something a little different is the freshly renovated Arborist rooftop bar with its all-weather shelter suitable for events of up to 80 guests. Inspired by the Mediterranean, Middle East and North Africa, Rosella Wine Bar is a charming restaurant on Majoribanks Street. Wellington likes to put on a show, with a busy event calendar all year round for delegates to enjoy Visa Wellington On a Plate is serving up events, burgers and Beervana in August, featuring both international and Kiwi chefs and breweries. The World of Wearable Art Show (WOW) will push the boundaries of art, fashion, music and performance in a spectacular theatrical event for three weeks from 26 September to 13 October. Wellington is also home to the Royal New Zealand Ballet and New Zealand Symphony Orchestra. Their shows and a full calendar of live theatre, comedy and gigs are being held in historic venues like the St James Theatre, Michael Fowler Centre and The Opera House. With a range of VIP and corporate event packages available in the capital over the coming months, it’s the ideal opportunity to craft the ultimate hosting experience for business event groups. WOW2023Winner. Photo: Stephen A’court 22 MEETINGS 2024 YOUR PREVIEW

2024 MEETINGS PREVIEW Where events meet vast experience. Claudelands’ award-winning conference and exhibition centre, located in the heart of Hamilton, is Waikato’s most advanced, flexible, and scalable conference and exhibition venue. We seamlessly combine our experienced and passionate event specialists, with our versatile venue to offer you the perfect, proven, and successful event formula. Make every moment count at Claudelands – visit our team on stand 68 to find out how. businessevents@h3group.co.nz www.claudelands.co.nz Already have a platform in mind? For meeting planners set on using a platform like Zoom for their virtual event, integrating languages can be made easier with the help of a professional language integrations team. They handle the complexities of language integration, including sourcing qualified interpreters, ensuring their qualifications, training them for the event, and guaranteeing their equipment and internet connection meet standards. With live support to tackle technical challenges, planners can focus on hosting a remarkable multilingual virtual event. How can Congress Rental New Zealand’s RSI solution enhance a Zoom meeting? Congress Rental New Zealand’s RSI solution seamlessly integrates with any video-conferencing or virtualevent platform. • Its language production team assists in every step, from sourcing and screening interpreters to checking hardware, ensuring accuracy and reliability. • The company offers unlimited language options, surpassing Zoom’s defaults. • Customisable features such as relay interpretation and interpreter partner chat and interpreter handover, enhance the virtual event experience for both interpreters and delegates. • Uncompressed, low-latency audio feeds guarantee high-quality sound with minimal delay. • Congress Rentals conducts extensive testing to prevent connection issues and downtime, ensuring interpreters are wellprepared with their hardware setups. “With over two decades of experience in language solutions, we deliver a premium RSI solution tailored to your event’s needs,” says Liam Ennis, managing director Congress Rental New Zealand. “We are delighted to be back at MEETINGS 2024 so come and see us on stand 45 to discuss your requirements and learn more about what we can do for you.” Remote simultaneous interpretation (RSI) is the key to seamlessly integrating multiple languages into a virtual event. It brings together delegates, professional interpreters, presenters, expert technicians, top-notch interpretation equipment and an event’s chosen platform, resulting in a polished experience that adds realtime language translation to an event. CONGRESS RENTALS - ELEVATING THE MULTILINGUAL VIDEO CONFERENCE 23 MEETINGS 2024 YOUR PREVIEW

MEETINGS is welcoming a record 35 new exhibitors from across the country this year. RECORD NUMBER OF NEW EXHIBITORS They include everything from stunning new venues and experiences like Ayrburn, a neighbourhood of beautiful event spaces celebrating Queenstown’s food and wine, Tauranga’s Historic Village, and Rotorua’s Wai Ariki Hot Springs and Spa. New activity operators include Social Nature Movement, based in Auckland, guiding outdoor activities with immersive experiences in nature. Newly opened hotels include Auckland Hotel Indigo and InterContinental Auckland New to the Luxury Collection this year include two luxury coastal properties - Rosewood Cape Kidnappers and Rosewood Kauri Cliffs - and Eichardt’s Private Hotel, Queenstown. • Amiki Tours, Christchurch • Attend New Zealand • Ayrburn, Arrowtown • B2B Speakers • Ballyhoo Events • BOP Event & Exhibition Hire • Canyon Brewery • Cargo Collective • Chris Jolly Outdoors, Lake Taupo • Collective Hospitality Ltd • Destinate NZ • Dj4you & Betterband • EcoZip Adventures • Eichardt’s Private Hotel, Queenstown • Epic Entertainment, Christchurch • Event Impressions Aotearoa • Generator NZ • Hotel Indigo Auckland • Ideas at work • InterContinental Auckland • Level 13, Rotorua • Liquorice Limited • Motion Entertainment • Novotel New Plymouth • PPG Events • Right Turn Agency • Riverside Kitchen, Christchurch • Silk Estate Marquee Events Ltd • Social Cooking • Social Nature Movement, Auckland • Technical Event Solutions Ltd • Terrace Catering, Rotorua • The Cargo Collective • The Historic Village, Tauranga • Thrillzone / Escape Quest, Auckland • Wai Ariki Hot Springs & Spa, Rotorua INTRODUCING ‘MOSS MOMENT’, A SPA OASIS FOR CONFERENCES Offered in conjunction with Moss Spa, Moss Moments can be booked as add-on items to conference bookings and offer flexibility to fit with each client’s needs. Meeting planners have three time frames to choose from: 30 minutes – ideal for intimate gatherings and smaller meetings; 60 minutes – suited to medium sized groups seeking rejuvenation; or the full day experience for larger conferences, team planning sessions or organisational updates to the broader team. Confirmation is required two weeks in advance of the booked event. Find out more by visiting the Sudima Hotels team at Stand 171 at MEETINGSs 2024. Sudima Christchurch City and Queenstown Five Mile are now offering a ‘Moss Moment’ add-on for conferences where teams can be treated to a rejuvenating spa escape. MEETINGS2023 2024 MEETINGS PREVIEW 24 MEETINGS 2024 YOUR PREVIEW

ai interpretation and captioning He aha te mea nui o te ao? He tangata, he tangata, he tangata! SUSTAINABILITY THROUGH PEOPLE Sustainability isn’t just about carbon emissions, reducing plastic use and planting trees. A holistic approach to sustainability saw Sudima Hotels awarded the Building Sustainability through People Award at the recent HRNZ Awards. “Having our inclusive culture, whanaungatanga, and sense of belonging recognised… we couldn’t be more thrilled,” says Sudima’s head of people and culture, Phillipa Gimmillaro. ”We know we have something good going on, and it’s truly special to receive this recognition. We are so fortunate to have incredibly passionate people driving our businesses and culture every day.” The award recognises the commitment to initiatives that contribute to improving organisational sustainability and are aligned with the UN Sustainable Development Goals including No Poverty, Good Health and Well-being, Gender Equality and Reduced Inequalities. Sudima Hotels’ recognition was based on the company’s comprehensive sustainability initiatives, integrating sustainability into all aspects of operations. A Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion framework has been established, ‘Care Teams’ for environmental sustainability formed, and inclusive recruitment practices prioritised. Through cultural realignment and employee training, Sudima has achieved remarkable improvements in employee engagement and sustainability milestones, including Toitū carbon certification for several hotels. Sudima’s commitment to diversity is reflected in leadership composition and employee demographics, creating an inclusive workplace culture where everyone feels valued and empowered to contribute. 2024 MEETINGS PREVIEW 25 MEETINGS 2024 YOUR PREVIEW

RkJQdWJsaXNoZXIy NDc2Mzg=